DAR Logo

    The Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) founded in 1890 and headquartered in Washington, D.C., is a non-profit, non-political volunteer women's service organization dedicated to promoting patriotism, preserving American history, and securing America's future through better education for children. DAR members volunteer millions of service hours annually in their local communities including supporting active duty military personnel and assisting veteran patients, awarding thousands of dollars in scholarships and financial aid each year to students, and supporting schools for underserved children with annual donations exceeding one million dollars.




    DEADLINE: 11/30/21 [Essay to be completed by 11/18/21]

    The DAR Good Citizens Award and Scholarship Contest, created in 1934, is intended to encourage and reward the qualities of good citizenship.

    This award recognizes and rewards individuals who possess the qualities of dependability, service, leadership, and patriotism in their homes, schools, and communities. These students are selected by their teachers and peers because they demonstrate these qualities to an outstanding degree.

    • This program is only open to high-school seniors whose schools are accredited by their state board of education.
    • Only one student per year may be honored as a school's DAR Good Citizen.
    • United States citizenship is not required.
    • Additional rules and guidelines can be acquired by contacting your local DAR chapter.


    The scholarship application consists of a short application, a personal statement and an essay, which is to be written in the RHS Scholarship Office by Nov. 30th. 


    Local Supporting DAR Chapter: James Bright Chapter, Bentonville AR




    DEADLINE: 1/31/22

    The DAR Richard and Elizabeth Dean Merit Scholarship awards two scholarships in the preferred amount of $5,000 each year for up to four consecutive years to graduating high school students. Scholarship recipients will pursue an undergraduate degree in American Studies at an accredited institution in the United States. The concentrated area of study may include American history, government, literature, art history, music or culture. The selection process shall be based on academic merit with an initial minimum GPA of 4.0 on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent GPA on the scale used by the applicable education institution. Renewal is conditional upon maintenance of a GPA of 3.25 based on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent GPA on the scaled used by the applicable educational institution.

    This scholarship is renewable only after review and approval of the annual official transcript. Renewal transcript must be submitted to the Office of the Reporter General by July 1 of the year of renewal or the scholarship is forfeited.





    DEADLINE: 1/31/22

    The Jones Learning Center is a comprehensive support program for students who learn differently. The JLC is designed to serve students with documented learning disabilities, Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder (AD/HD), or Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) with average or above average intellectual abilities. 


    The Margaret Howard Hamilton Scholarship is awarded to a graduating high school senior who has been accepted into the Harvey and Bernice Jones Learning Center, housing the Ben Caudle Learning Program at the University of the Ozarks, Clarksville, Arkansas. Applications must be requested directly through the Learning Center upon acceptance into this program for learning disabled students. This award is $1,000 annually for up to four years with annual transcript review by the National Chairman required for renewal.



    To learn more about about the program:

    University of the Ozarks Jones Learning Center